The Evolution of Elipalooza

Before I begin, let me just say that this post is really just an extension of my previous post. It goes into further detail about the new direction of this blog. With that said…

This blog has grown and evolved as I have grown and evolved – which is a given since this is my personal blog, after all. Recently, I decided to re-brand this blog after I realized that I needed a platform to put out my grievances about stuff, but the branding I had before just wasn’t cutting it. I dabbled with doing it on YouTube, but after trying it, I realized that it was becoming a big hassle for that purpose (since I don’t have the proper resources and its a whole lotta work – its much easier for me to run a music YouTube channel). I’m highly opinionated and right now, I seem to have several opinions on various things and I need a place for me to broadcast those opinions, hence the re-brand.

When I first started this blog, I did it purely for fun and as a form of therapy. I wanted to see how it was like to blog. Since I started this blog in 2010, I’ve done a lot of experimentation with it, because that’s what it originally was: an experiment. I had no intention of taking it seriously. This was just something I did on the side to rant about stuff or goof around (depending on what mood I was in). Earlier this year, I made a commitment to write more stuff (both in the form of regular writing and music), since writing is something I’ve always enjoyed and – just like music – has always been a form of therapy for me. Like I said in my last post, I seem to be doing some of my best writing right now and I want to build upon that. I’m also hoping that this (just like with my artwork) will aid me in my music journey by helping me to write better music and make me more productive.

I’ve dabbled with the idea of taking blogging more seriously in the past, but I’ve never felt ready to do so or knew exactly what I wanted to do. It seems like I have finally figured it all out (see my previous post). I’m probably not going to take blogging fully seriously (since I’m already considering doing that for my music project right now) but I’m going to play around with taking it semi-seriously, to the least (since this is more of a side-project). Perhaps I’ll open up a Patreon for this blog in the near future, depending on how things turn out (that way, I can earn some extra money on the side and keep doing this on a more regular basis).

I would have to say that my biggest influences for this re-branding would have to be The Amazing Atheist, the Drunken Peasants, MrRepzion, Secular Talk, and MundaneMatt. (If you look closely, you’ll see that this blog and this re-branding is pretty reminiscent of that of MrRepzion.) This re-branding is very much influenced by YouTube commentators, like the ones I mentioned above. I’ve become an avid YouTube viewer in recent years (where I view mainly news, commentaries on news, politics, culture, & entertainment, educational content mostly relating to music, business, and marketing, and listen to music) and this re-branding reflects that. In actuality, the re-brand of this blog has been in the works for about a year or two and I’m very excited to finally roll it out. During this period, I had found a new vision for the blog but was puzzled as to what direction to take it in, until now of course.

The bulk of the content that I’ll be posting from now on will consist mostly of opinion pieces (you know, commentaries) on news, politics, and culture, as well as technology and maybe music on occasion (I kind of want to save the music one for the PROJEKT61 blog, but might try to dabble with it on this blog initially). This blog has always been about posting about whatever interests me at the time, and right now, this is the type of stuff that interest me (outside of music, of course). I’ll also post the occasional life update and some random stuff every now and then. In addition, there will also be a video commentary or some other thing on my personal (2nd) YouTube channel every now and then.

I’m playing around with the idea of maybe re-naming the URL of this blog from “thepcxp” to “elipalooza”, if the free version of WordPress allows me to. I’m also thinking about renaming my personal YouTube channel from “Eli Turner” to “Elipalooza”, since its really just a supplement to this blog and it’ll be much more consistent. I took the time to clean up the categories a bit and have now been re-organized, in order to reflect the changes to this blog. You’ll also see a few other updates, including on the “About” page.

Here’s to the new chapter and continued evolution of Elipalooza!

Leave a Reply

