Show ‘N’ Tell: Links!

Today, I thought I would share some links. But before I begin, I would like to say that today is my 23rd birthday. Of course, I had lots of birthdays. But the one thing that makes this one stand out is the fact that this is my first birthday as Ryan, so this is a pretty special birthday for me.

Now, on to the links I wanted to share:

Old PROJEKT61 logo (above); New PROJEKT61 logo (below).

Old PROJEKT61 logo (above); New PROJEKT61 logo (below).

PROJEKT61 Logo Refresh
On my Eli Turner blog over at Tumblr (my design blog), I discussed the redesign I did for my EDM project, PROJEKT61. I actually designed the font for the new logo (so you won’t find it anywhere else). Read the post to find out more, including why I did this redesign.

 

(Current) PROJEKT61 logo.

PROJEKT61 logo.

Q&A with PROJEKT61
I recently did a Q&A over at my blog (on Tumblr) for PROJEKT61 (my EDM project). Read the post to find out about my progress in producing and DJing, as well my influences, future plans, and upcoming projects. In addition, you’ll find out about my thoughts on my first single.

 


Groundbreaking US Lawsuit Filed on Genital Surgery
That’s right! The title says it all! Doctors are now being held accountable for their actions. No longer are they getting a “free pass”. I wish the best of luck to M.C. and his parents. I hope they win their case and I hope that justice will be served. Hopefully this will also make unconsentual genital surgery on infants/minors illegal. All I can say is, ‘its about time’.

 
Things Are Looking Up: M.C. Case Reshapes Public Understanding of Intersex In the US
The M.C. case is reshaping the way the public understands Intersex in the US. Intersex has always been ‘sensationalized’ here in the US, insulting people like myself. Good to hear that people (the media, in particular) here in the US are taking Intersex more seriously.

 
California Transgender Identity Bill Passes Assembly
My state (California) is in the process of passing a bill that will make updating Transgender folks legal documents much easier. Currently in my state, you have to go to court to get a gender change before fixing your birth certificate. If this law passes, the process will be more like a gender error correction where you apply directly to the Office of Vital Records to amend a birth certificate – going to court will no longer be required. In additon, it will make the name change process more private. Currently, you have to publish a notice on a local newspaper for four weeks to make a name change – Trans individuals included. This law will exempt Trans people from having to do that. This is very good news and hopefully this law passes. (I might just have to this instead of doing the gender error correction thing, since only my gender – not my name – will be ammended by doing this and my name change will be made public. I’ll really have to think about this.)

 

(Image courtesy of Scientific American)

Dear American Consumers: Please Don’t Start Eating Healthfully. Sincerely, the Food Industry
If the Food Industry here in the US were to write a letter (an honest letter) to us, this is how it would look like.

 

TPX1C_IPYoga

ThinkPad X1 Carbon (left) and IdeaPad Yoga (right)

First time ThinkPad or IdeaPad user checklist
Are you a first time ThinkPad or IdeaPad user? Get started with this useful checklist from Lenovo Forums. (Note: This assumes you have a Windows preload.)

Leave a comment