The TRT Diaries – Introduction

I am starting a new series of blog posts called, “The TRT Diaries”. This is where I’ll post updates about my Testosterone Replacement Therapy (TRT), which I’ll be starting soon. I feel that this is a unique series because I am an Intersex person who will be undergoing Hormone Replacement Therapy (HRT), and I haven’t really seen any people document their HRT progress while also being intersex (regardless of their background). It would be pretty nice if more intersex folks who chose to undergo HRT (for whatever reason  – whether that is hypogonadism or personal preference) documented their progress (but I know why a lot of them don’t and completely understand). It would let all of us know how its like to undergo HRT while being intersex – which is something that most people don’t experience. Plus (and this is I think the most important part), this information would be of great value to any intersex people thinking about going on HRT/TRT, as there are a lot of intersex variations out there so the effects of HRT/TRT are going to vary by variation (and overall, the genes one has inherited).

So this is just me doing my part and trying to create more visibility for intersex folks…and this is also me trying to fill a niche. This should be pretty interesting, so I can’t wait to start this journey!

BTW, since I’m dealing with hypogonadism (low testosterone, in my case), I’m sure this will be helpful to “average” (i.e. non-intersex and non-trans) men out there who are also hypogonadal and are thinking about going on TRT.

P.S. My intersex variation is 17 beta-Hydroxysteroid Dehydrogenase Deficiency [Type 3] (or 17b-HSD, for short).

Leave a comment